Logo
Call for Free Initial Consultation
Mississippi: 601-202-1111phone icon
Alabama: 205-250-1107

Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Mileage Payments

Posted on : November 15, 2016
Workers Compensation Mileage Reimbursement

Workers Compensation Mileage Reimbursements

In Mississippi, injured workers are entitled to mileage reimbursement for all travel related to the work injury. This way those hurt on the job are relieved of paying for fuel, which can be a hardship.

How much do I get for mileage payments/reimbursement?

The amount varies from year to year. The Mississippi Worker’s Compensation commission bases the yearly amount on the amount allowed by the IRS. Below are examples dating from 2013.

  • 2013; – $0.565 per mile;
  • 2014 – $0.56 per mile;
  • 2015 – $0.575 per mile;
  • 2016 – $0.54 per mile

What can I count as mileage for the purposes of Workers’ Compensation?

Anything related to your claim! Any trips you make to the doctor, you count it. If you attend physical therapy multiple times a week, keep up with it. Every time you need to pick up your prescriptions, add that to your mileage log.

How I go about obtaining reimbursement for my mileage?

If an Attorney represents you, all you need to do is fill out a mileage form and submit it to your Attorney and they should forward that form to the Employer and Carrier. If a Lawyer is not representing you, then you may need to submit the forms directly to the contact on your case.

Note: an adjuster often will not voluntarily offer you a mileage reimbursement form. You may need to ask for one directly.

How often should I receive a mileage reimbursement check?

That varies from case to case. Most injured workers receive a check within a couple of weeks of submitting their mileage form.

Does an Attorney get part of my mileage check?

 Attorneys generally do not take a fee from mileage checks.

Can I be reimbursed for mileage to and from my Attorney’s office?

As much as we would love to see our clients reimbursed for their mileage to and from our office, unfortunately at this time that is not allowed.

If you were hurt on the job, you have rights, including the benefits discussed above. Contact an Attorney familiar with Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Law who can assist you from the very beginning to the very end of the Workers’ Compensation process.

Pepper & Odom Law Firm
571 US-51
Ridgeland, MS 39157
601-202-1111


Original Content by: Attorney Joey Franks of The Franks Law Firm

Posted in :

Comments are closed.